Friday Favorites: Sweet Hut, 8Arm, and more!

Favorite food photo: this crab avocado toast from 8Arm. 8Arm is a cozy, sunny spot in Poncey Highland and perfectly located next to the BeltLine. It’s one of my favorite spots for breakfast and brunch because of their simple yet delicious offerings. It’s not cheap – this toast was $14 – but you’re getting high-quality ingredients and made-from-scratch items. All of the pastries and breads are made in-house and are to die for (especially the biscuit). Although the toast was pricey, it was loaded with good stuff and left me full for most of the day. And I could take my time eating it while I worked on other stuff, so the magical experience wasn’t over in five minutes. Damn….now I want more toast.

Crab and avocado toast with a side of good vibes at 8Arm. 😍🦀 #avocadotoast #atlantaeats #brunchtime

A post shared by Atlanta Food & Travel Writer (@liapicard) on

 

Favorite recipe: this sheet pan pasta with roasted broccoli. Easy, healthy comfort food. And the leftovers freeze nicely!

Sheet Pan Pasta with Broccoli

Favorite book: “Kitchen Confidential”. I just started reading the book that made Anthony Bourdain a household name. Yes, for the first time! I know, can you believe it? Jon has been saying for years I should read it and I’m just now getting to it. So far…I love it!

Favorite good cause: the Sweet Dreams Scholarship from Sweet Hut Bakery. High school seniors and college students can apply for this $1,000 scholarship that celebrates dreams. Sweet Hut partnered up with the Center fo Pan Asian Community Services (CPACS) to choose a winner. The requirements are pretty flexible and the contest sounds fun. Details are at the link, and if you know anyone – share this with them!

Sweet Dreams Scholarship

Favorite weekend activity: I have a lot of work ahead of me this weekend and I’m really excited that a trip to La Calavera Bakery is part of it. I’m working on a story about them and while I love the bread I’ve bought from them at farmers markets I’ve never been to the shop, so I can’t wait. I may have to grab some more carrot spelt bread!

Carrot Spelt Bread

Carrot Spelt Bread

Other weekend plans on deck: happy hour at the Optimist, “The Legend of Georgia McBride” at Actors Express and some yoga at the new Dancing Dogs Yoga studio.  Anyone have fun weekend plans on their radar?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

