Friday Favorites: New Orleans, Songs for Kids, and More!

friday-favorites

Welcome to Friday! I’m so grateful that my Fridays are short and therefore go by super quickly. Perk of working at a Jewish organization! As soon as I leave the office I’m headed down to Grant Park to visit my friends at Beautiful Briny Sea. Let’s get to those favorites, shall we?

Favorite food photo: this huge chocolate chip cookie from Octane Coffee. Octane is one of one of my favorite coffee shops for espresso beverages (I love their cortados and lattes especially) but they also make excellent chocolate chip cookies! I’m excited that they’re one of the businesses participating in the Cookie Grab for Planned Parenthood. This picture was taken at their Arts Center location. Jon and I are members of the High Museum and now that the Octane outpost is there we go even more often. It’s a narrow shop with only a few booths and a counter along the window. The barstools aren’t the most comfortable, but it’s fun to post up and watch museum and theater goers stroll by. There’s plenty of patio seating, too.

Ohhh, the cookie. It’s buttery, loaded with chocolate, and the sea salt flakes are heavenly.

Favorite foodlanthropy: the Songs for Kids music festival. I won’t be able to make it, but I had to share this fun sounding event with you. Songs for Kids Foundation enriches the lives of children suffering from illnesses by bringing music to children in hospitals and special needs camps. This means concerts that the kids participate in, bedside performances, and a songwriting and recording program.

foodfest_graphic_noflash

The festival brings together food from over 20 restaurants and chefs and performances covering music by Taylor Swift, Bruce Springsteen, and others. Tickets start at $45, admission includes food and music festival. Note: there’s also a nighttime performance that requires a separate ticket purchase.

Favorite thing I wrote: my dining and drinking guide to New Orleans. It’s even received positive feedback from the New Orleanians that have read it! Please check it out, and then go to New Orleans. It’s such a fun city and of course, there’s plenty of great food.

Where to Eat and Drink in New Orleans

Pin for later!

Favorite thing I listened to: “Sooo Many White Guys” podcast with Phoebe Robinson. I’m sooo into it! I was first acquainted with Phoebe when I started listening to “2 Dope Queens” hosted by her and Jessica Williams. That season ended so now Phoebe is doing her own podcast where it’s just her and a guest who is not a white guy. To quote the description of the show, “Phoebe is tired of being the token black woman in an ocean of white dude comedians. So in this podcast, Phoebe’s calling the shots.” She chats with a diverse group of people from comedian Margaret Cho to Alaska Thunderf*ck 5000, a drag queen who recently won Ru Paul’s drag competition. Phoebe’s hilarious and I love being exposed to all the different perspectives presented on the show. Oh, and Ilana Glazer is the show’s executive producer and makes fantastic guest appearances. If you’re looking for a funny yet interesting podcast, here you go.

somanywhiteguys_1400x1400_season2_showpage

Favorite thing I’m looking forward to: my birthday, duh. We’re just one week away! I can’t wait to head to BeetleCat next week and down some oysters and bubbles with a few of my favorite people.

Oyster at BeetleCat Atlanta

 

On deck for the weekend: coffee at Brash with a few cool gals, the Apple store to make a new laptop purchase (early birthday present- thanks, Jon!), dinner at Katana, and a manicure appointment. Maybe some relaxation?  Hope you all have a great weekend!

Lia Signature

Leave a Reply

