Friday Favorites: Food Photos, Atlas Atlanta, and More!

Friday Favorites from The Cardigan Kitchen

Happy Friday! Here are this week’s favorites.

Favorite food picture: this clam roll from Ticonderoga Club. Oh my gosh, it was SO good! I’ve never had the food at Ticonderoga Club but now I know that it’s really, really good. Jon and I popped in on a Saturday and snagged a couple seats at the bar and had ourselves a good time with cocktails, the clam roll and the otah otah (look it up).

 

Favorite thing that happened this week: I wrote a story for the Atlanta Jewish times about Jewish people in New Orleans’s restaurant industry and it came out yesterday! PLEASE READ IT, it’s one of my favorite things I’ve worked on.

Hanger Steak with Tahni Roasted Potatoes at Emeril's

Hanger Steak with Tahni Roasted Potatoes at Emeril’s

 

Favorite new date spot: Atlas in the St. Regis hotel. We had been dying to check out Atlas since it opened in 2015 and finally got the chance to on a Sunday night. The space is beautiful, adorned with over-the-top artwork and pretty blue hues on the walls and sexy lighting. We tried a bunch of different things, but my favorite bite from the evening was these George’s Bank scallops with roasted sweet potatoes, black walnuts, and brown butter. I love a fat, succulent scallop.

George's Bank Scallops at Atlas Atlanta

The dining room (where we ate) is a bit too pricey for a spur of the moment date night, but I’m super excited to see that they’ve launched The Tavern at Atlas. Their bar is beautiful, and now has its own special menu with small plates like lobster pot pie, triple-cooked crispy fries, beef tartare, and caramelized veal sweetbreads at super affordable prices. I can’t wait to post up at the bar, order a cocktail a la Louisiane (rye, benedictine, vermouth, herbsaint), and try some of those new dishes!

Favorite dish I cooked: these super healthy baked falafel patties. Served over a salad they are the perfect low-carb lunch or dinner! You can get the recipe from The Foodie Physician.

Baked falafel, roasted sweet potatoes, and salad. Gimme that gold star for a healthy dinner am I right? ⭐️

A post shared by Food + Travel Writer (@liapicard) on

 

Favorite thing I’m looking forward to this weekend: Team Hidi 5! The Giving Kitchen‘s biggest fundraiser of the year is FINALLY here, and I’m seriously SO excited This Sunday I’ll volunteer at my third Team Hidi, this year at its new venue, The Stave Room. The theme is “street art” which should be really cool. Can’t! Wait!

team-hidi-5

That’s all for this week. Do you have any Friday Favorites? Share them below!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: Food Photos, Atlas Atlanta, and More!

  1. What is my Favorite Friday thing….your Blog Lia ! Thank you for your excellent article in the Atlanta Jewish Times regarding New Orleans. Can’t wait to try out some of these restaurants the next time we are there. I so want some clams from the Ticonderoga Club….The Tavern at Atlas is now definitely on our “to go to” list; and thank you and all the others who do so much for such a special cause as the Giving Kitchen. Cindy

    Like

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Dinner Under $50 | The Cardigan Kitchen

Leave a Reply

